Skip to content

Evaluating the Samsung Code

March 7, 2010
Samsung Code

The Code: Smartphone at a Smart Price

At first look the Code is quite unpretentious – it is slender compared to other smart phones and you really would think it can’t compare to other handsets in the market place. For this reason I will start this article with a the following caveat: I am a Blackberry user. My current BB is a Bold that I have hung on to owing to those steep cancellation fees and yeah a 2-year contract.

I have used everything from the 7520 to the 8830 World Phone and subsequently the Curve. In addition to this I have used two versions of the Palm Treo including their Windows Mobile version and finally I have also used the HTC Mogul.

Having established my credentials as an experienced Smart Phone user I want to continue with a view of the Code.

The keyboard has some slight differences from BB yet after two days you will be typing quite easily. Some of the keys are arranged differently so there is some re-learning to do on a couple like the period and comma keys.

 The Code is based on the Windows Mobile 6.1 platform which has a great deal of apps available since it is older in the market. I was able to download a Typepad Mobile app as well as a really sweet app that allows me to work in the field without a laptop or notebook: Evernote. I like the 2.0 Megapixel camera that allows me to snap a shot and upload it to either of those apps or plain Facebook (another app I downloaded at no cost). While I can take some short videos, I only do it for work needs and even to show my co-workers how a certain area in town works (with all the traffic movement included).   The storage card is a regular miniSD card that allows up to 32GB of storage, so no shortage of space there. The large screen also provides excellent viewing, especially when using MetroNavigator.

Emailer?:

Like other Windows Mobile devices, the codes allows you to establish several email (IMAP, POP) accounts in addition to synching with an MS Exchange Server based account. You can choose to thread your SMS messaging (or not), and being MS Exchange synchable it allows you to search for a co-worker’s address if they are not on your contact list. This simple feature is a boon given that you cannot do this using your Blackberry when using a BIS account, thus saving you some more money.

The Business Edge:

One business advantage that gives the Code an edge is that it includes the Mobile Office Suite allowing you to save, edit and forward Word, Excel, Powerpoint and OneNote. This functionality is tremendous and at no extra cost. A big win in my books.   I enjoy using my Code and really it gives MetroPCS the right directionality as we continue to foray into our Wireless For All era. This handset rocks!

I would finish by recommending that you download the Skyfire Mobile Browser to improve your mobile experience on the Code. This browser deserves its own review and outperforms my BB browser that seems unable to render pages if javascript is involved (a lot of them). No promises, but I might just do it!

Resources: http://thecodeofmetropcs.blogspot.com/

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a comment